This section provies information about iwi in Te Tau Ihu, the top of the South Island.

Eight iwi (tribes) are tangata whenua (people of the land) in Te Tau Ihu (top of the South Island):

  • Ngāti Kuia
  • Ngāti Rārua
  • Ngāti Tama ki Te Tau Ihu
  • Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui
  • Ngāti Kōata
  • Ngāti Toa Rangatira
  • Ngāti Apa ki te Rā Tō
  • Rangitāne o Wairau

Tasman District also covers the northern part of the Ngāi Tahu takiwā (tribal area/territory).

Statutory Acknowledgements

A statutory acknowledgment is legal recognition of the particular cultural, spiritual, historical and traditional association of an iwi with an identified statutory area.

  • Read more about Te Tau Ihu Statutory Acknowledgements
  • @todo link


The Māori population has increased steadily in the last ten years. As at the 2013 Census there were 3,438 Māori  in the Tasman District - a 12% increase since 2006.



Kaumātua - Archdeacon Andy Joseph

Kaumātua Archdeacon Andy Joseph provides the Mayor and Elected Members with support around tikanga Māori.

Read more about the role of Kaumātua @ todo add block



Fostering Māori participation in decision-making

Last modified: